Nom de Plumage

October 17, 2011

The beginning


In the year 2010, I undertook a personal journey and travelled solo through Europe. Throughout my seven month journey, I wrote about my experiences in a travel journal. This is that journal that I wish to share.

The best place to start my journal, will be the preceding three years that changed my life’s direction and pushed me to leave my family and job and travel for many months. I was living in a small country town on the outskirts of Melbourne with my brother. Originally from Sydney, our move to Victoria was meant to be a change with the hope of bettering our lives and setting up a better future. But within a few months, we both realised that it was not working. Our jobs were not the best and financially we were worse off. Depressed, I could not see my way out of the situation. Then in September 2007, the decision was taken out of my hands with the sudden collapse of my father. He was rushed to hospital and subsequently was diagnosed with a blockage of the heart and needed a triple bypass operation. My mother was alone in her hour of need and dealt with the situation as best as she could. Exhausted and with no support, my brother and I could make one choice only and that was to move back home.

But before we moved, I decided to do something so irrational and that is to see a tarot card reader. Never having done something so out of character, I was depressed and needed some guidance. To all the sceptics, (and there will be many of you), it actually worked and made me wake up and see what I already knew. Jenny gave me many accurate facts about myself, but the most important thing that she said, is that I have to travel. Travelling has always been a passion of mine. I love different cultures, history and love exploring, but the time was never right or there was never any money. The other major thing she mentioned was that I would only meet my “soul mate” when I change my life (the judges are still out on that one).

So, with my mind made up, I moved back home to Mum and Dad’s and became a hermit. Taking care of them both was my major role and earning money to fund my travel plan. No social life, no shopping and no fun, my goal was save as much as I could and limit any credit debts. Within two and a half years, I achieved my target budget. To say that life was hard or boring was ever so true, but I remained focused, knowing that I would achieve my biggest dream.At the beginning of 2010,I bought my “round the world” airfare. My plans were not set in concrete, but I did have some idea were I wanted to go.

Quitting my job was never going to be easy, but in all fairness my boss took it well. So well in fact, that after “I got this crazy idea out of my head”, my job would be waiting for me when I got home. That would be the first of many blessings that guided me the many months ahead.

Leaving was never going to be easy, but the lead up to me departure was marred by another family illness.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Beradadisini

On Mindful Living, Writing, and Traveling

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Hebraei

Everyday life and adventures of a nomadic dreamer

bonneblog

food, travel, other

WalkedThru

For You.

European Scientist

Blog with Journalistic and Historical articles

Scribe Doll's Musings

"Foolery, sir, doth walk about the orb like the sun; it shineth everywhere." (Shakespeare, 'Twelfth Night')

My Tuscan Riviera Vacation-Versilia

Versilia on the Tuscan Riviera from an American girl's point of view

Great photos!

Sharing nice pics from around the world :)

TristanBerry.com

The official site for the writing of Tristan Berry

Robert Santafede Photography

Still Life, Portraits, Urbex

Two Different Girls

Places we go, things we do

A Journey of Self Reflection

Stories from a Global Career and Creative Passion

1st-time Mom

Courage is fear that has said its prayers

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

