Nom de Plumage

October 18, 2011

Here We Go Again

Filed under: Travel Journal — nomdeplumage @ 8:40 pm

As the world was coming to grips with the sudden and shocking death of Princess Diana, my family was dealing with Mum’s breast cancer operation. Unfortunately, my father and I had to deal with it mainly as my brother was living and working in Germany and my sister was living one thousand kilometres away. Thankfully, her cancer was so minute that even the doctors were shocked that she was able to detect it so early and that it was a very slow growing cancer. But through it all, we remained positive and gave Mum every support that she needed.

Fast forward thirteen years and one month out from my departure date, my Mum breaks the news at dinner, that she has breast cancer number two. My first reaction was shock and my second was “here we go again”, but two fold. You see, in 1998 I had a ticket to travel to Paris, Rome and Venice and had to cancel last minute, due to some family issues and lost a lot of money. Deja vue?  After my Mum broke the bad news, her very next words were “you are not cancelling your holiday”. I had every intention of cancelling, knowing that my dream was slipping out of my grasp again and that I would lose a lot of money. But honestly, how could I do otherwise, knowing that I could possibly lose something far greater in my life? We argued and my family were all for my leaving. Feeling depressed and very emotional, I was torn. How could I enjoy my holiday, knowing that Mum was to go through hell, again?

Her breast cancer was the same as last time, only in the other breast. So we knew what to expect. But it still did not make it easier. I was there with her through the examinations and hospital preparations, to finally the operation and her initial recovery. Mum was positive and strong through it all. Mostly for my behalf, I know.

The count down continued and the nerves kicked in.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Beradadisini

Be. Here. Now.

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Hebraei

Everyday life and adventures of a nomadic dreamer

bonneblog

food, travel, other

WalkedThru

For You.

European Scientist

Blog with Journalistic and Historical articles

Scribe Doll's Musings

"Foolery, sir, doth walk about the orb like the sun; it shineth everywhere." (Shakespeare, 'Twelfth Night')

My Tuscan Riviera Vacation-Versilia

Versilia on the Tuscan Riviera from an American girl's point of view

The Year of the Neutron

A Year's Worth of Stuff In Anticipation of the Release of the Novel, "Mr. Neutron"

Great photos!

Sharing nice pics from around the world :)

TristanBerry.com

The official site for the writing of Tristan Berry

Robert Santafede Photography

Still Life, Portraits, Urbex

Two Different Girls

Places we go, things we do

A Journey of Self Reflection

Stories from a Global Career and Creative Passion

1st-time Mom

Courage is fear that has said its prayers

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

