Nom de Plumage

October 26, 2011

17th July – Bon Voyage

Filed under: Travel Journal — nomdeplumage @ 8:38 pm

After a restless and almost sleepless night, I woke early in preparation for my departure. My brother was to drive me to the airport, leaving my parents at home because of Mum’s recent cancer operation. In many ways it was a relief to get the goodbye’s over with on both sides. Crying was always going to happen as the guilt was eating me up leaving my family behind to face the next few months and the battle ahead. My parents kept their emotions under control, for my sake more then anything. I was very grateful otherwise leaving would have been that much harder. The hour and half drive to Sydney’s International Airport was both emotional and tense. My brother Joe showed little emotion, but I knew deep down that he too was hurting. I checked in and just passed with the maximum weight allowed. Then it was straight to the departure/customs point and the dreaded goodbye. My brother is my best friend and we share so much with each other. The next seven months would be lonely without him. No shoulder to cry on, no teasing, no play fights and no support. He did not cry, although his emotions were written plainly on his face. Crying, I grabbed him, gave him a big hug, turned and walked towards the wide door that would lead me away from home and into a new world. Getting through customs was a joke. I had to remove my belt and shoes, throw away a bottle of unopened water and bag all cosmetics etc before I could get my clearance. Flight Air Canada 034 bound for Vancouver departed on time. Sitting in the middle aisle with no one beside me, made it a relatively comfortable journey. I am not a friend of flying, in fact, I hate it! Uncomfortable seats, cramped spaces and the dreaded air sickness. Taking tablets to relieve myself of any embarrassment, causes dehydration hence more trips to the ever tiny toilet. Great! It was a long 14 hour flight and I barely slept a wink. Arrived safely at Vancouver airport twenty minutes late. Unbeknownst to me, is that I had to go through Canadian customs, then get my luggage and walk a mile to my connecting gate bound for Montreal. All this in one hour? It was not going to happen. I was so tired that I had no strength to get my backpack on my back. So I dragged my heavy bag down this very long corridor. Sweating, puffing and cursing the whole way, you guessed it, I just missed my flight. There was a two hour wait for the next flight, so it gave me time to rest and ring my cousins and notify them of my delay.
Landing in Montreal through a heavy thunderstorm is down right scary. The turbulence was sickening and rough. The plane landed safely. My cousin Kathy and her husband George were waiting for me. It was so nice to finally arrive after a twenty hour flight, albeit two hours late. Because of the storm, no luggage was removed from the plane and so it was a long two hour wait before we could collect my luggage and go home. It was now 9:30pm and I was beyond tired. Kathy had prepared dinner and although I ate a little I desperately needed a shower and a bed. The moment my weary head hit the pillow, I fell asleep.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Beradadisini

On Mindful Living, Writing, and Traveling

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Hebraei

Everyday life and adventures of a nomadic dreamer

bonneblog

food, travel, other

WalkedThru

For You.

European Scientist

Blog with Journalistic and Historical articles

Scribe Doll's Musings

"Foolery, sir, doth walk about the orb like the sun; it shineth everywhere." (Shakespeare, 'Twelfth Night')

My Tuscan Riviera Vacation-Versilia

Versilia on the Tuscan Riviera from an American girl's point of view

Great photos!

Sharing nice pics from around the world :)

TristanBerry.com

The official site for the writing of Tristan Berry

Robert Santafede Photography

Still Life, Portraits, Urbex

Two Different Girls

Places we go, things we do

A Journey of Self Reflection

Stories from a Global Career and Creative Passion

1st-time Mom

Courage is fear that has said its prayers

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

