Nom de Plumage

January 30, 2012

The Picturesque City of Quebec


For the whole time that I have been in Montreal, I have been pestering my cousins to take me to Quebec City. Weeks were passing and my departure day was two days hence and I believed it was not going to happen. When suddenly this morning, Dura announces that we are going, to my utter shock.

We travelled 260km through another part of Quebec State, giving me another opportunity to see more beautiful scenery. The trees are now slowly starting to change colours as the stunning season of Autumn has finally arrived. Canada is a dream destination during Autumn and although I will not have the pleasure to experience it in full, I am happy that I got a small taste of the stunning array of colours and falling leaves. Just as we enter the outskirts of the city, we stopped for a much needed lunch break and what better place to stop if not the ever reliable and cheap McDonalds? With our tummy’s full of nutritious food, we continued to the beautiful Cathedral of St-Anne de Beaupre. Quebec’s version of the famous Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris. Inside the wealth is prevalent with stunning statues, fresco painted high ceiling and  and stunning alter. Not being very religious inclined, I can appreciated the craft-man-ship, dedication and beauty of this place of worship. We stayed for a good two hours looking within the interior and exterior of the cathedral as well as looking inside the nearby souvenir shops. My cousin’s both brought something, but I decided not to.

We then drove back towards Quebec City and I was so excited at the prospect at seeing a city that I have seen so many times on TV. We arrived, parked the car and then Dura dropped the bombshell, that we were to stay only half an hour because we had a long drive ahead of us and he wanted to miss the peak hour traffic. ARE YOU KIDDING? I was so upset that I jumped out of the car and ran towards the city and with my camera held up at all times, all I could do was click away and hope that my shots turned out and have SOME evidence that I was in Quebec City. The half an hour ended very quickly and begrudgingly, I made my way back to the car. In short, it was a very picturesque city full of beautiful quaint little stores that held so many wonderful goodies. Stunning art work on the outer walls of buildings, wonderful food stores and cafes and just a delicious ambience that I could only say, that I am so saddened that I had so little time to explore.

We drove home and I was in a very quiet mood and sure enough, we hit traffic full on and was crawling along at a snails pace. I did not say anything, but we could have stayed a little longer and missed the traffic and enjoyed ourselves? Oh well, cie la vie!  Tomorrow is my last day before I depart Canada and family and that is when the real adventure begins………….

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Beradadisini

On Mindful Living, Writing, and Traveling

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Hebraei

Everyday life and adventures of a nomadic dreamer

bonneblog

food, travel, other

WalkedThru

For You.

European Scientist

Blog with Journalistic and Historical articles

Scribe Doll's Musings

"Foolery, sir, doth walk about the orb like the sun; it shineth everywhere." (Shakespeare, 'Twelfth Night')

My Tuscan Riviera Vacation-Versilia

Versilia on the Tuscan Riviera from an American girl's point of view

Great photos!

Sharing nice pics from around the world :)

TristanBerry.com

The official site for the writing of Tristan Berry

Robert Santafede Photography

Still Life, Portraits, Urbex

Two Different Girls

Places we go, things we do

A Journey of Self Reflection

Stories from a Global Career and Creative Passion

1st-time Mom

Courage is fear that has said its prayers

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

