Nom de Plumage

March 25, 2012

A Long-Awaited Favourite – A Pretzel Accompanied With A Beer

Filed under: Travel Journal — nomdeplumage @ 7:29 pm
Tags: , ,

After a very late night of talking and just catching up, we both awoke very late and decided on a lazy day. We decided on some retail therapy, as Nadine needed new clothes and with the onset of winter approaching, I also needed to make adjustments to my meagre wardrobe. The one great thing about travelling in Europe, is that you can drive one hour up the road and you are in another country completely. There is NO WAY you can do that in Australia. So one hour later, via stunning alps, we arrive in Germany and the city of Constance.

Nestled beautifully along-side a massive lake, the city is my first long awaited re-entry into a country that I fell in love with twelve years ago. We walked the main shopping precinct, stopping many times to find that elusive bargain? For me, it was not meant to be. With the arrival of the Euro, the currency exchange rate is too my disadvantage, not to mention that Germany is an expensive country. I was lucky to find four long-sleeved cotton tops at reasonable prices. Nadine on the other hand, did very well and in fact blew her budget.

We stopped at a restaurant that over-looked the lake and with the sun shinning and a blue sky, it was the perfect place to eat, drink and soak up the waning rays of summer. There are many things about Germany that I love and have missed, but two things high up on my list, is the humble pretzel and beer. There is nothing like it in the world. German beer for me, is one of the best in the world. I am more of a wine drinker, but when I lived in Germany, I came to love and enjoy their beer. The beer is stronger, yet full of body, flavour and it tastes so damn good! Nothing accompanies a beer more better than a pretzel. A dark golden, crisp and salty bread-like treat, that I savoured and relished to once again be eating. I have to confess though, that I was still tired from yesterday’s travelling, that I did something that I never do and that is drink a rattler (beer mixed with lemonade). Yes, I know, but there was no way that I would become intoxicated on my first day.
We drove home as the sun was setting. My friend cooked a lovely, yet simple dinner of pasta with tomato sauce, accompanied with a salad and a glass of red wine. After dinner, Nadine feel asleep on the couch and I was left to watch a very unusual movie called “The Perfume”. Has anyone seen this movie? To be honest, I have never heard of the movie before, but Nadine said it was really good. Well, I watched it till the end and have to say, that mass orgy at the end was a real eye opener and the ending is bizarre. Nonetheless, a good movie and anything with Dustin Hoffman has to be good!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Beradadisini

Be. Here. Now.

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Hebraei

Everyday life and adventures of a nomadic dreamer

bonneblog

food, travel, other

WalkedThru

For You.

European Scientist

Blog with Journalistic and Historical articles

Scribe Doll's Musings

"Foolery, sir, doth walk about the orb like the sun; it shineth everywhere." (Shakespeare, 'Twelfth Night')

My Tuscan Riviera Vacation-Versilia

Versilia on the Tuscan Riviera from an American girl's point of view

The Year of the Neutron

A Year's Worth of Stuff In Anticipation of the Release of the Novel, "Mr. Neutron"

Great photos!

Sharing nice pics from around the world :)

TristanBerry.com

The official site for the writing of Tristan Berry

Robert Santafede Photography

Still Life, Portraits, Urbex

Two Different Girls

Places we go, things we do

A Journey of Self Reflection

Stories from a Global Career and Creative Passion

1st-time Mom

Courage is fear that has said its prayers

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

