Nom de Plumage

June 2, 2012

Touring Turin


One must never overlook or under-estimate the lesser known cities of the world, for they just may surprise you. For that is what Turin has done to me! It may not be on par with the likes of Italy’s more popular cities i.e. Rome or Florence and yet it has it’s own distinct characteristics and highlights. Turin is divided by a fast flowing narrow river. On one side of the river is the main city and populace, flat and dominated by stone architecture. The other side is something completely different. Hills rise slowly up from the river and it is here that stunning villa’s, homes and the more quieter side of Turin lays. It is the side that my hostel was on and although somewhat more challenging to get to with heavy luggage, it was a beautiful part of the city. Each day I would cross the bridge and walk into the city (that would take only 15 minutes), but it was a beautiful start to my day. It is here that I got to really see how the Italian’s start there busy working day for the first time. Each morning, cafes would be opened early to accommodate the early workers who needed their ‘coffee-fix’. Now these cafes would only be small, but that was not a problem. A bar with a barista behind it, was all that was needed. People would queue or shout their order for an espresso, drink it in two-three quick sips and then be on their way. But it was always done so professionally and elegantly that I loved to look into these institutions and just observe the art of coffee-drinking. I was totally and utterly intimidated by the whole experience and dared not to enter or intrude.

Known as the industrial city of Italy, Turin is also known as the ‘chocolate capital’ or ‘city of undercover-walkways’. Apparently there is fourteen kilometres of somewhat  greyish coloured stone walk-ways, lined with beautiful shops and cafes. I walk with no direction or destination, just the pleasure of watching the world walk by and the delights pass by. I purchased a pass that gave me the opportunity to sample some sweet delights in several cafes/pastry shops throughout the city. Each place that I visited was beautiful and each little chocolate sample was decadent.

The weather was absolutely perfect for the last month of autumn. The beautiful Palazzo Reale was one of the highlights of the day. An old palace that has been converted into a museum that houses the remaining artefacts of royalty and other Italian pieces of art etc. After my little detour into the museum, I made my way back towards the river and to a beautiful old square that was mainly void of traffic and full of shops and outdoor cafes. Here I was able to get my daily gelato fix and would make it my mission to continue my ‘fix’ for the rest of my Italian sojourn. 

My final, but certainly the most important part of my day was to telephone my family back home to wish my Mum a Happy Birthday. It was an extra special occasion as my mother’s radiotherapy treatment was in it’s final days. Her progress has been somewhat slower than twelve years past, but my family has had a wonderful support network of family and friends and for that I am grateful. I miss them more on special occasions like these, but hearing their voice always cheers me up and keeps me going.

1 Comment »

  1. […] Touring Turin (nomdeplumage.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Outdoor Cafes, and Always Being the Photographer | Two Different Girls — June 5, 2012 @ 9:43 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Beradadisini

On Mindful Living, Writing, and Traveling

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Hebraei

Everyday life and adventures of a nomadic dreamer

bonneblog

food, travel, other

WalkedThru

For You.

European Scientist

Blog with Journalistic and Historical articles

Scribe Doll's Musings

"Foolery, sir, doth walk about the orb like the sun; it shineth everywhere." (Shakespeare, 'Twelfth Night')

My Tuscan Riviera Vacation-Versilia

Versilia on the Tuscan Riviera from an American girl's point of view

Great photos!

Sharing nice pics from around the world :)

TristanBerry.com

The official site for the writing of Tristan Berry

Robert Santafede Photography

Still Life, Portraits, Urbex

Two Different Girls

Places we go, things we do

A Journey of Self Reflection

Stories from a Global Career and Creative Passion

1st-time Mom

Courage is fear that has said its prayers

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

