Nom de Plumage

June 3, 2012

Turin Keeps Turning It On


And so my final day in Turin is here and with so much to see and do, I make an early start and hope for the best.

The best advice that a fellow traveller can give to another, is to walk. It may seem to be so obvious, but many people choose to cheat and take public transport whenever possible. It certainly saves time, but think of all the delights to be discovered when walking. Oh, and it definitely helps in losing those extra kilo’s as well. I have discovered this to my absolute delight, that although my diet is non-existent and I have been indulging in so many wonderful Italian specialties, not to mention all the gelato and pastries that I have consumed, my jeans just keep getting looser. Love it! The best thing that I have discovered while I have been travelling, is that I can eat dairy and not get sick. You see, I am lactose intolerant. For all fellow sufferer’s out there, you can understand what would happen if you ate gelato? It means terrible stomach pain, diarrhoea and flatulence that can empty a room in two seconds flat. I have suffered for about ten years now and for me it was cruel joke because I am a huge lover of all things dairy. So you can imagine my complete and utter delight when I discovered that I could eat gelato and not have any after-shocks. Heaven! I do not know what is so special about the cream/milk used in Italian gelato, but whatever it is, thank you. It just made my holiday that much more special.

The one highlight of my day and something that I can recommend to everyone to visit, is the stunning Palazzo Madama. Once the former palace of the Italian Royals, it has now been converted onto a museum. The beauty of all that I had seen was indescribable. Some of the former royal artefacts is still on display, along with paintings, sculptures, jewellery, statues and much, much more. I spent several hours walking the stunning corridors, observing all the wonderful sights. For me, the French castles are very ostentatious, but the Italian castles are elegant and beautiful. I enjoyed them much more.

As I continue my tour, I come unexpectedly upon a huge outdoor market. It sold almost everything and there was so many shoppers browsing past the many stalls. It was wonderful to see the different selection of fresh fruit and vegetables and some that I have never seen before. Markets offer a cheaper and yet fresher alternative to supermarkets. Although in Europe there are supermarkets, they are nothing compared to what is available in either the UK, US or Australia. Europe tends to rely on smaller independent shops and markets.

The one attraction that I really wanted to see, was the site of the Winter olympics held several years ago. But unfortunately, without a car, public transport was not very reliable and there was no direct route. To walk there it would have taken me hours, so I had to concede defeat and make my way back to my hostel to pack and get ready for my long day travelling.,

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Beradadisini

On Mindful Living, Writing, and Traveling

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Hebraei

Everyday life and adventures of a nomadic dreamer

bonneblog

food, travel, other

WalkedThru

For You.

European Scientist

Blog with Journalistic and Historical articles

Scribe Doll's Musings

"Foolery, sir, doth walk about the orb like the sun; it shineth everywhere." (Shakespeare, 'Twelfth Night')

My Tuscan Riviera Vacation-Versilia

Versilia on the Tuscan Riviera from an American girl's point of view

Great photos!

Sharing nice pics from around the world :)

TristanBerry.com

The official site for the writing of Tristan Berry

Robert Santafede Photography

Still Life, Portraits, Urbex

Two Different Girls

Places we go, things we do

A Journey of Self Reflection

Stories from a Global Career and Creative Passion

1st-time Mom

Courage is fear that has said its prayers

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

