Nom de Plumage

January 20, 2013

Oh…..Vienna……


English: Stephansplatz and Graben street in th...

English: Stephansplatz and Graben street in the evening. Vienna, Austria. Polski: Stephansplatz i deptak Graben o zmierzchu. Wiedeń, Austria. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I leave Salzburg with the greatest of reluctance, but I am moving on to a bigger city – Vienna. A short, yet pleasant three-hour train journey, I disembark at Hutteldorf station. Before leaving my hostel at Salzburg, I asked for directions to my hostel in Vienna. The directions given was excellent and I arrived at the hostel with no problem. That is until I got to the hostel and they kindly informed me that I have no reservation. It was then that I quickly realised, that I was given excellent directions to the wrong hostel. The woman was very kind and even suggested that she could cancel my reservation at the other hostel and book me into this one. Do you ever get those moments, when a spirit guides you in another (better) direction, but you ignore it and go with what you believe is best, then regret it later on? This was one of those moments and how I regretted it later on.

I eventually found the correct hostel, about an hour later, beautifully situated high above the city of Vienna. Booked in and given the key to my room, I enter and discover my roommate sleeping when it is only two in the afternoon. Not wanting to disturb her, I deposit my bags and leave, making my way into the city to buy another camera. This will be my third and I still have three months left of travelling. I can honestly say that I am over the damn things and frustrated at my bad luck and money wasted. But the thought of not being able to document my travels and not have photo’s as reference for later years, is enough persuasion to buy a new one. But this time, I buy something small and reasonably priced.

It is late in the afternoon and the day is slowing fading. My main mission is complete and so I spend the rest of the day just walking with no purpose or direction. The city is beautiful and it’s reputation as a city of culture and beauty, is well founded. I must contain my excitement to explore for another day and make my way back to my hostel and meet my roommate.

When I open my room door, the woman is awake and appears very friendly and keen to get to know me better. I am longing for company and indeed a conversation with someone, especially with one who speaks English so fluently. But it was almost immediately obvious, that the conversation was going to be one-sided and that I was to spend the next three hours bored and in shock at the conversation that I listened to. This was ‘that moment’  I mentioned in my opening paragraph about guidance that was given, but I refused. In all honesty, I cannot write that my roommate was senile, deluded or in fact that she may even be of sound mind. I have not the courage to even write her name or the conversation we had, in fear that it may even be true. What I can write, is that her life has been for a year, no life at all. On the run and with no home or no family for support, her future is very bleak. I know that I could have opted to change rooms, but I did not have the heart to do it because I knew that she was lonely and needed to confide in someone. I also prayed that this would be a ‘one-off’ event and once she had gotten things off her chest, all will be OK. Wrong! This was only the pre-cursor and I was in for more.

I can only write, that this will be an interesting and very long five days.

YOTOT(MC): Austria Center Vienna (panorama)

YOTOT(MC): Austria Center Vienna (panorama) (Photo credit: Yaisog Bonegnasher)

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Beradadisini

On Mindful Living, Writing, and Traveling

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Hebraei

Everyday life and adventures of a nomadic dreamer

bonneblog

food, travel, other

WalkedThru

For You.

European Scientist

Blog with Journalistic and Historical articles

Scribe Doll's Musings

"Foolery, sir, doth walk about the orb like the sun; it shineth everywhere." (Shakespeare, 'Twelfth Night')

My Tuscan Riviera Vacation-Versilia

Versilia on the Tuscan Riviera from an American girl's point of view

Great photos!

Sharing nice pics from around the world :)

TristanBerry.com

The official site for the writing of Tristan Berry

Robert Santafede Photography

Still Life, Portraits, Urbex

Two Different Girls

Places we go, things we do

A Journey of Self Reflection

Stories from a Global Career and Creative Passion

1st-time Mom

Courage is fear that has said its prayers

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

