Nom de Plumage

March 25, 2013

An Idiot Abroad in Barcelona

Filed under: Travel Journal — nomdeplumage @ 7:57 pm
Tags: , ,

DSC00326

I arrive in Barcelona after an overnight train trip from Paris, sharing a minuscule cabin with three other lovely women; our luggage occupying all surface area of the cabin. Although an extremely cramped cabin, each of my companions are lovely and after a few hours of gossiping, lights went out and we fall asleep to the rhythmic jolting of the fast train. The night passes slowly and when we finally awake, it is but twenty minutes before our expected arrival in Barcelona. From this point on it is  chaos, with pyjama’s hurriedly replaced with our winter garments, toothbrush and toothpaste armed for action and then the last (most important) beauty regimen, the hairbrush because let’s face it, women’s buffoons first thing in the morning is not a pretty sight.

When I left Strasbourg, it was cold, raining and miserable and so I am suitably dressed to face the elements. The problem is, that someone forgot to tell Barcelona that it is winter. You can imagine my shock when I exit the station to see blue sky, the sun shinning and the locals dressed in summer clothes. To remove all my access clothing and then have to rearrange my luggage at this point, was not an option, and so I made do and hoped that I would not keel over from heat exhaustion. The directions to my hostel are both limited and I waste a lot of time and effort before I eventually find my accommodation. The ‘law of attraction’ states, what you DO NOT wish for, you get and did I get it! Hills and more bloody hills, dressed as I am, they almost killed me and I arrived drenched in sweat.

I check into my simply attired room and peel away my clothes and head straight for the shower room. Once refreshed, Barcelona awaits and I have the day to explore and relish sunshine again. I had prepared and accepted the long winter, but nothing had prepared me for that feeling of depression that comes with the lack of sun. I missed it so much and the joy, that for a few days at least, I can once more feel warm and happy.

Barcelona almost did not happen for me. Whilst in Italy, I met a lot of people who only complained about the city, about the people and the high rate of theft. Admittedly, it frightened me and I almost decided to miss Spain altogether. But in reality, each country has petty theft, unkind people and unsavoury parts of the city. Each person experiences a city differently and I needed to find out for myself, what Barcelona is all about. I can only say, that I am very happy that I listened to my intuition and came because I would have missed out on a beautiful part of the world.

Although a lazy day, in reality I’m tired from the overnight trip and the fiasco of my arrival at my hostel and decide to call it a day and get some sleep. Just hope the sun decides to show itself again tomorrow?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Beradadisini

Be. Here. Now.

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Hebraei

Everyday life and adventures of a nomadic dreamer

bonneblog

food, travel, other

WalkedThru

For You.

European Scientist

Blog with Journalistic and Historical articles

Scribe Doll's Musings

"Foolery, sir, doth walk about the orb like the sun; it shineth everywhere." (Shakespeare, 'Twelfth Night')

My Tuscan Riviera Vacation-Versilia

Versilia on the Tuscan Riviera from an American girl's point of view

The Year of the Neutron

A Year's Worth of Stuff In Anticipation of the Release of the Novel, "Mr. Neutron"

Great photos!

Sharing nice pics from around the world :)

TristanBerry.com

The official site for the writing of Tristan Berry

Robert Santafede Photography

Still Life, Portraits, Urbex

Two Different Girls

Places we go, things we do

A Journey of Self Reflection

Stories from a Global Career and Creative Passion

1st-time Mom

Courage is fear that has said its prayers

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

