Nom de Plumage

June 10, 2013

Berlin Here I Come

Filed under: Travel Journal — nomdeplumage @ 4:50 pm
Tags: , ,

DSC00773

I fondly remember an occasion several months ago in Milan, talking with several tourists from different parts of the world about places we have visited or places we want to visit. It is the Englishman who stands out profoundly as he did no favours selling any possible reason I might wish to travel to Berlin. In fact, he almost persuaded me in not visiting the city at all. Almost! There is this underlying message that keeps rearing itself as my travels progress and that is I need to make the decision  for myself about which country I should visit and then decide if it was worth it. And so I depart Luzern early in the morning and travel almost the length of Europe to a city on the cusp of a new and exciting era.

There are times that I decide to take a risk and not reserve a seat. Reservation expenses start to add up and I believed I may get away with it this time. Yeah! For about two hours I did. I made sure to seat myself in a non-reserved seat and thought I would be safe, but it was not to be. I was kindly informed to vacate the seat and found myself standing in the aisle for an hour because the train was full. It worked out well because I meet an Australian family and we started talking about our travel experiences. Before I knew it, the train arrives in Frankfurt and the quickly empties, giving me a relaxing five-hour journey through the heart of Germany.

DSC00925     DSC00766     DSC00923

The name itself, “Bombardier”, evokes power and nothing can prepare you for the amazing massive structure that looms before you as the train slowly pulls into Berlin’s main train station. I am speechless and had no idea that such a modern and awe-inspiring building existed. It is more amazing at night when the building is lit up like a scene from Star Wars. When my train arrives, I have yet to realise the size of this thing, that is until I exit the main platform and make my way down the escalator to the main concord, and then it really hits. What lays before me is several platforms containing shops and cafe’s and then the last platform at the very bottom, where trains depart for the outer suburbs of Berlin. Massive! Very modern and very efficient. I have to write, a good way to start my Berlin journey and I know that it is a prelude of what is too come. I cannot wait!

DSC00822     DSC00823     DSC00824

It is late in the evening and I am tired from doing nothing all day. I find it funny to write that, to sit all day reading and watching the world pass by, it is

Opened in 2006, Berlin Hauptbahnhof is a large...

Opened in 2006, Berlin Hauptbahnhof is a large station at the crossing point of two major railways and features modern, abstract architecture. Berlin used to have a ring of terminus stations, similar to London and Paris, but these were gradually replaced with through stations over the period of 1882-1952. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

exhausting. I catch the train that will take me to my hostel and quickly realise that my hostel is half way back to Luzern. It is a forty minute journey and I had no idea it would be so far out from the city. Funny enough, it is the first thing Christiane says (even before a hello) when she arrives quite unexpectedly later that evening. Sorry! But, we are happy to see each other once again and make plans for our day tomorrow.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Beradadisini

Be. Here. Now.

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Hebraei

Everyday life and adventures of a nomadic dreamer

bonneblog

food, travel, other

WalkedThru

For You.

European Scientist

Blog with Journalistic and Historical articles

Scribe Doll's Musings

"Foolery, sir, doth walk about the orb like the sun; it shineth everywhere." (Shakespeare, 'Twelfth Night')

My Tuscan Riviera Vacation-Versilia

Versilia on the Tuscan Riviera from an American girl's point of view

The Year of the Neutron

A Year's Worth of Stuff In Anticipation of the Release of the Novel, "Mr. Neutron"

Great photos!

Sharing nice pics from around the world :)

TristanBerry.com

The official site for the writing of Tristan Berry

Robert Santafede Photography

Still Life, Portraits, Urbex

Two Different Girls

Places we go, things we do

A Journey of Self Reflection

Stories from a Global Career and Creative Passion

1st-time Mom

Courage is fear that has said its prayers

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

