Nom de Plumage

June 13, 2013

Food, Gadgets and a Wonderful Department Store in Berlin

Filed under: Travel Journal — nomdeplumage @ 2:09 pm
Tags: , ,

A viod in the Jewish Museum, Berlin

A void in the Jewish Museum, Berlin (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Jewish Museum Berlin, slabs.

Jewish Museum Berlin, slabs. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

The 6th-floor food hall at Kaufhaus des Westen...

The 6th-floor food hall at Kaufhaus des Westens, Berlin (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

English: The winter garden with restaurant on ...

English: The winter garden with restaurant on top level of KaDeWe department store in Berlin (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

DSC00825

 

The Judisches (Jewish) Museum is a place that my friend really wanted to visit and I went with her. I really had no expectation and actually thought that the museum would concentrate solely on the Holocaust. But I could not have been more wrong and in fact, I did enjoy parts of the exhibition. The entrance fee is very reasonable at four euros and security is tight. We enter and walk down stairs to a bleak expanse of corridors that tell the story of the tragedy of World War II. The exhibition was sparse and I expected more. To our disappointment, the newest outside exhibition is closed due to the bad weather and heavy snow fall. The first two levels I found boring and I parted with Christiane in search of the two upper levels. The museum is huge and when I eventually did find what I was looking for, I was not disappointed. There was so much information to read and absorb, photographs, footage and wonderful stories to read. I loved it! It was not just about Holocaust, it was much more. Well worth the visit and very happy that Christiane convinced me to visit.

 

After our lunch break, we caught the U-Bahn to the Europa Centre and I was in awe of the place. The long wide street, is a mecca for technology junkies and a haven for shoppers. We spent an hour just in the electronic’s department, which is actually not a lot when you consider there is six levels of gadgets and much more. If only I had the money! Towards the end of the street, is Germany‘s famous department store called Ka De We. I have never heard of this place and had no idea what to expect, but I can write now, that it is the best department store I have seen so far.

 

DSC00826     DSC00827     DSC00829

 

Ka De We is all that you would expect of a first-class department store. Six levels of the finest wares, designer brands and more choices that only help to spoil your choices. Needless to write, that the prices most definitely matched the quality of the goods and both my friend and I, absolutely loved this place. But for me personally, the fifth level was my favourite. A huge level dedicated to food. It consisted of many different sections, whereby each section represents something different i.e. seafood/fish, fresh meat/processed, cheese, fruit/vegetables, packaged goods and more. Small restaurants are throughout the level selling a wonderful different array of cooked food. The smell was amazing and it was also great to see the chefs cook the meals fresh in front of the guests. My favourite section by far, is the one dedicated to chocolate. I have never seen so much chocolate, both packaged and hand-made.

 

The sixth and final level, comprises of a massive buffet area selling a wide assortment of hot and cold food, both savoury and sweet. We stopped here for our dinner and are spoilt for choice. It has only been my second full day in Berlin and I am already loving it. It is our final day together. Christiane leaves early tomorrow morning, bound for home and I will miss her very much. She has been a great companion and has a crazy and affectionate personality.

 

2 Comments »

  1. Prices in Berlin are such a delight. 🙂

    Comment by perthians — June 23, 2013 @ 9:32 pm | Reply

    • They certainly are and it is a great city. Thanks for liking and reading my post. Kind regards.

      Comment by nomdeplumage — June 26, 2013 @ 3:41 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Beradadisini

On Mindful Living, Writing, and Traveling

The Writing Corp

Official Writing Tips, Inspiration and Hacks

Hebraei

Everyday life and adventures of a nomadic dreamer

bonneblog

food, travel, other

WalkedThru

For You.

European Scientist

Blog with Journalistic and Historical articles

Scribe Doll's Musings

"Foolery, sir, doth walk about the orb like the sun; it shineth everywhere." (Shakespeare, 'Twelfth Night')

My Tuscan Riviera Vacation-Versilia

Versilia on the Tuscan Riviera from an American girl's point of view

Great photos!

Sharing nice pics from around the world :)

TristanBerry.com

The official site for the writing of Tristan Berry

Robert Santafede Photography

Still Life, Portraits, Urbex

Two Different Girls

Places we go, things we do

A Journey of Self Reflection

Stories from a Global Career and Creative Passion

1st-time Mom

Courage is fear that has said its prayers

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

PhotoBotos.com

The #1 Featured Photographer Blog on the Web!!

